Bigger (HAIR) is Better?

15May10

HAIR EXTENSIONS | NATURAL REMEDY
By Huda Heidi Kattan


So I have been getting a lot of questions in regards to hair extensions and lash extensions and my thoughts about these “beauty” remedies. My personal thought? If you want to have beautiful thick hair, you should avoid these types of enhancements at all cost. Why? I have read too many horrifying stories and I have had so many friends, including my own hair dresser in the states (who is a hair GURU), tell me how bad hair extensions are for your hair. Sure they look nice and make your hair look super voluminous, but they are NOT a short-term deal. If you want to get permanent extensions of any kind, plan on keeping them forever and forking out a lot of money to do so.

If you think about it, it makes perfect sense. Putting something in your hair that consistently pulls on your hair, is probably going to loosen if not completely pull out the hair follicle. In all of my experience of working with models, socialites, etc every single girl has told me that it thinned their hair tremendously. Only one girl, who’s hair was obviously very much thinned, told me otherwise! The same goes for lash extensions.

If you want to get beautiful thick hair, I recommend the natural route. It has been extremely successful for many, if not all my clients. I recommend increasing your intake of Omega-3 by eating more fish, walnuts, flax seed, etc. Omega-3 will improve hair growth and also keep your hair from falling. Also, try massaging your head every night before bed for just a few minutes. This is incredibly effective.

If you are as impatient as I am and feel that you truly do need some type of volume then try using clip-on extensions. They add volume instantly and don’t provide the 24-hour tug that permanent extensions will. Most salons will make them for you, or if you are stateside, Sally Beauty Supply has a great range of natural hair extensions at an affordable price. It might take a bit more time to get ready, but your hair will thank you.

There is no reason why you can’t have the hair you have always wanted without getting permanent hair extensions. It just takes a little patience and care, but then naturally, your hair will be more beautiful, and nothing is more beautiful than natural beauty.

image courtesy of lisaturley

10 Responses to “Bigger (HAIR) is Better?”

  1. I love this post!! I only just started taking fish oil around 4 or 5 months ago, but had no idea it was so great for your hair until I read your posts. I have pretty fine hair and have always wanted it long, but it just looks sooo limp when I try.
    Recently though, perhaps 2 months ago now, I have been noticing my hair looking and feeling better than usually, I thought it was my new shampoo, but perhaps it’s the fish oils.

  2. 2 Elizabeth

    Love this!!! I have been following you blogs and absolutely love all of them. Can’t wait to use this one!

  3. 3 Sarah

    Thanks for sharing! I was so close to getting extensions! Def changed my mind!

  4. 4 Jessika

    very true, I used extensions and it made so much of my hair fall out 😦
    I’m going to start using the fish oil now!

    • Oh no!! I’m sorry baby!! You can fix it now!!!! The sooner the better! Just start now and you will love the difference! Just add the clip on’s when you need to! But you have always had gorgeous hair so I know you will have it again!! Xxxxxx

  5. 6 alya

    we don’t have sally beauty supply in dubai 😦 , do we?!

    • No baby:( I’m sorry, but most salons will make them for you. I recommend trying to negotiate a bit though, they almost always do! Xxx

      • 8 Jen

        LOVE U HUDA

  6. 9 Didi

    LOVE THIS POST!! thanks alot hun! btw i wanted to know if u can post about “damaged hair” and what do i use/eat to make it healthier??

  7. 10 Sana

    dear huda, i have tried many tips and went to too many doctors but unfortunatly i have lost my hair in top so i neeeeeed to have hair plant surgery, could u please help me in this? which doctor may help me in this in dubai or uae? please make a search for me and send me. i would be so grateful please


Tell me what you think Gorgeous?!

