Beauty Myth | Plucking those Grays!

26May10

BEAUTY MYTH | GRAY HAIR
By Huda Heidi Kattan

I don’t know about you, but when I get a gray hair, the first thing I want to do is yank that baby out! Of course, the terrifying thought that plucking gray hairs from the root will cause two to grow in it’s place kept me from touching those silver suckers.  But is this even true?

Plucking your gray hair will NOT cause anymore gray hairs to grow.
`
When the pigment in our follicles die, the hair loses color and turns gray. When you pull the one hair follicle, the only gray hair that can grow back will be the that one hair.  It will not spread and create more gray hairs. The idea that the hairs can multiply is not possible scientifically.

So after reading article after article claiming that this old wives tale was indeed just a tale, I began plucking out all of my grays. What happened? NOTHING! I didn’t get anymore gray hairs.  Now would I recommend yanking all of your gray hairs out?  Definitley not! After all, the only thing that will happen is you will eventually notice your hair thinning and that is definitely not pretty. But have no fear that plucking out a hair here and there won’t cause your pretty locks to go gray.

2 Responses to “Beauty Myth | Plucking those Grays!”

  1. 1 Mai

    interesting.. I haven’t had any grey hairs yet and i hope i dont get them for a looong time to come..

    But on another note.. This photo of meryl is just breath taking mashalla!

  2. 2 Alya

    I would like to find a natural way to cover the gray. Can you blog about it?


Tell me what you think Gorgeous?!

