Contest Question

27Jun10

Contest Question:
How did Christian Loubtoutin get the idea for his signature red sole?

Please email your answer to contest@hudabeauty.com

There will be 5 winners to this contest! The winners will each receive one of the latest colors of lipgloss from Revlon (which are AMAZING) as well as one of their newest foundation, the revolutionary, PhotoReady Foundation.

You must submit your answers by Wednesday, June 30th 5:00pm (+4 GMT) and you must be subscribed to hudabeauty.com to be eligible.

Good luck!!

3 Responses to “Contest Question”

  1. 1 Nikki

    It was an accident, and a happy one for that matter. I was sketching some shoes, and one of them had the same color on the sole, when I looked at it, it seemed bad to me, unlike what I saw in the drawing I made, so I thought that there was something missing there that needs to be added. I realized that the black sole was the issue, so I had an assistant who was polishing her nails, I asked her if I can use her red polish to polish the sole with that color and it became perfect, it looked beautiful, it simply took-off. Adding the red color gave it definition.

  2. 2 F6aim

    The amazing Louboutin trademark all started by accident when Christian Louboutin felt that the shoes lacked energy so he applied red nail polish to the sole of one of his shoe. This was such a success that it became a permanent fixture to all his shoes. Also, there was an exclusive video interview by Net-a-Porter with Christian Louboutin where he revealed the idea behind his red soles as quoted below:
    “I did not really choose the red sole. Its more like the red sole came to me and had to stay with me. It started as a happy accident, which I kept. I was very inspired by pop art so all my drawings were really full of colors. So the first prototype arrives. Its very similar to my designs so I was very happy. But something was missing. Thank God I had this girl with me who was painting her nails. Grabbed her nailpolish – thank you to Chanel for that! I grabbed the nailpolish and I painted the sole.”

    And that’s basically it- the magic behind the red sole. 🙂

  3. 3 maria

    In his U.S. trademark application, Louboutin explains the inception of the signature red soles:

    “In 1992 I incorporated the red sole into the design of my shoes. This happened by accident as I felt that the shoes lacked energy so I applied red nail polish to the sole of a shoe. This was such a success that it became a permanent fixture.”


Tell me what you think Gorgeous?!

