Vitamin HB | Skincare 101

02Aug10

SKIN CARE | BEAUTY PRODUCTS
By Huda Heidi Kattan

This is quite long, but it is a great question about skincare basics from a really sweet girl!

Hi Huda 🙂

Since you’re a guru of all things beauty-related, your advice is very much needed for my dilemma. A couple of questions I want to ask you:

Firstly, is it important for EVERYONE to use moisturizer or is it only suitable for certain skin types? I have combination skin (T-zone is slightly oily, other areas are normal). I don’t really like the way my skin looks and feels after I’ve applied cream on my face. It makes my skin look a bit oily, specially when I apply sunscreen on top of it.(I’ve only recently started using suncreen like RELIGIOUSLY. I know, it’s appalling that I’ve only started now.)  I’ve used the Body Shop Moisturizing gel, and it leaves a dry residue on my skin – not nice at all. I’ve also used Oil of Olay Day cream – it’s alright, nothing to shout about. I’m probably just not used to having creams all over my face OR maybe I need a lighter cream/gel. I don’t have dry skin, but at times I do find tiny dry patches on my forehead or on my chin. Do you think I could apply a moisturizer only on those dry patches, instead of all over the face? Also, what is the difference between a day cream and a night cream? Is it really important to have both? Or can I substitute a moisturizer for a night cream to apply on my dry patches during the day? Finally, after learning of my dilemma, could you a recommend a good moisturizer that’s suitable for my skin type? One that I could probably also use before I go to bed at night? Can’t wait to hear from you!! 🙂
Keep those interesting and informative blog posts coming!! xoxo

Hey sweetie pie!!
This is a FANTASTIC Question!!
First, I would like to say, it’s ok that you have just now started taking care of your skin:) Some people never do! I cannot tell you how happy it makes me to hear that my blog has influenced your decision to take care of your skin:)
Ok, well start from the top:)
Firstly, is it important for EVERYONE to use moisturizer or is it only suitable for certain skin types? I have combination skin (T-zone is slightly oily, other areas are normal). I don’t really like the way my skin looks and feels after I’ve applied cream on my face. It makes my skin look a bit oily, specially when I apply sunscreen on top of it.(I’ve only recently started using suncreen like RELIGIOUSLY. I know, it’s appalling that I’ve only started now.)
Some people may have beautiful skin and never put a drop of moisturizer on their face.  If you’re skin is perfectly balanced and gorgeous, I recommend only moisturizer when and where needed, for instance, a wrinkle cream around the eye area, sunblock, etc. However, if you are a woman who wears makeup, and I think you do:) then you really need to wash the makeup off your face. Makeup is full of synthetic oils, pigments and chemicals that are not healthy to leave over night.  It is a must to wash makeup off every night and I recommend using a toner too. In that case, you will definitely need a moisturizer to apply moisture back into your skin after washing and toning.

I’ve used the Body Shop Moisturizing gel, and it leaves a dry residue on my skin – not nice at all. I’ve also used Oil of Olay Day cream – it’s alright, nothing to shout about. I’m probably just not used to having creams all over my face OR maybe I need a lighter cream/gel. I don’t have dry skin, but at times I do find tiny dry patches on my forehead or on my chin. Do you think I could apply a moisturizer only on those dry patches, instead of all over the face?
Dry patches on skin could be a number of things. It could be a fungal infection (almost everyone has them), irritated skin, eczema, or dermatitis.  If it doesn’t itch and is only on your face, then it’s probably just a fungus infection.  I know it sounds gross, but literally everyone has or has had them!  I would recommend using an anti fungal cream and rubbing it directly on the dry patch. Also, try using a cream like Retin A, this way it will help you renew your skin. And scrub at least once a week, just to make sure you remove any dead skin cells.

Also, what is the difference between a day cream and a night cream? Is it really important to have both? Or can I substitute a moisturizer for a night cream to apply on my dry patches during the day?  Finally, after learning of my dilemma, could you a recommend a good moisturizer that’s suitable for my skin type? One that I could probably also use before I go to bed at night?
There is definitely a difference between day cream and night cream. Day creams typically have a little SPF and help fight against any daytime toxins and dangerous UV rays. Night creams typically have ingredients that help renew skin and should not be worn during the day. It is important to wear the right moisturizer for the occasion. Kiehl’s is a great line of skincare that is gentle and quite effective.  I recommend using Kiehl’s Utra Facial Moisturizer during the day. It works very well for almost all skin types and has SPF 15. It’s a great day moisturizer! As for the oily T-zone, I would recommend either using a moisturizer with SPF (like the Kiehl’s), that way you’re not layering lotion on top of lotion, or using a Sunscreen Powder, like Peter Thomas Roth Sunscreen Powder, Sister’s salon carries Peter Thomas Roth, so you can see if they have it or if they can order it for you. As for a night cream, try using RoC Retinol Correxion Deep Wrinkle Night Cream.  It has great ingredients for renewing skin and has won MANY awards for it’s great wrinkle fighting power. Also, Clinique All About Eyes is a very popular eye cream that has also won many awards and is great to use day and night.

I hope this is helpful baby!!! XXxxxx 🙂
image credits healthdietfitnesstips
9 Responses to “Vitamin HB | Skincare 101”

  1. Sooo this is amazingly informative and helpful! Thank you to the lovely lady who asked these questions and thank you Huda for taking the time to answer them in such depth. This prompts a question for me… is there such a thing as scrubbing too often? I use a gentle clinique cleanser with a washcloth day and night and also moisturize day and night, but every now and again my skin will get SO dry and I wonder if it’s from scrubbing so much… like I feel like I might be scrubbing it raw and not giving it a chance to heal itself. Or is this problem not even related to scrubbing? lol your expertise would be so helpful!!

    xoxo

    • Hi darling!! There definitely is! But everyone’s skin is different! Some people are able to use a scrub daily, while others weekly, etc. It completely depends on your skin. If your skin is feeling a bit dry, chances are it’s from the moisturizer. I would try using something a little more intense or applying moisturizer more often (right when your skin feels a bit tight).

      Typically, one of the signs that you are scrubbing too much is irritation or small breakouts. Scrubbing is definitely important, it helps keep skin radiant and fresh. I advise gently using your hands and starting with once a week. Build from there to see how often would be good for you. 🙂 Hope this is helpful darling!!

  2. 3 Susannah

    This is very helpful!

    I also have a question for you, Huda. Which brand/color nailpolish are you wearing in the ‘Flawless Foundation’ video on YouTube? I love it and have gone through endless lists of colors, but haven’t found the exact shade. I would love to know! Thank you and keep up the good work! 🙂

    • Hi babes!! Thank you soooooo much for your sweet comments!! 🙂

      The exact shade is from Revlon, it’s actually their new Gray Suede, which is totally brownish nude. Perfectly in trend too, so it makes it a bit more fun! 🙂 It’s really beautiful! 🙂

  3. Thank you so much..! That was really helpful..! ❤

    • Darling!! You are sooo welcome!! 🙂

  4. 7 Alya

    Great question, great post! Thank you both!

  5. 8 einas

    very informative, I have a question for you Huda how to take vare of my 40 years old oily skin with lots of pores
    Thank you

  6. 9 einas

    I would really want to look in the mirror and say what a beautifull skin i have is that possible after this age? does peeling work for me? and what kind of peeling suits my dark skin?
    by the way i loved the picture above it is really inspiring


Tell me what you think Gorgeous?!

