Dip Dyed Hair, the New Ombre?

20Aug11

TREND REPORT | HAIRY TALES
By Huda Heidi Kattan


Celebrity hair trends have been seriously changing the way we do hair, but this one takes “fun” to a new meaning! One of the latest trends to hit the runway and red carpet (mostly thanks to Lady GaGa) is the Dip-Dye hair do! I love it! It’s kind of like the ombre meets Lucky Charms.

“Celebrity hair colorist and Wella ambassador Aura Friedman, who has styled the locks of Lady Gaga, MIA and Sky Ferreira, believes there are three distinct reasons behind this tress resurgence.

‘One: Lady Gaga has helped open mainstream people to the idea of unusual colored hair; two: the use of colored pieces and wigs in many editorial stories in all magazines and amongst many celebrities; and three: the DIY aspect. When I do a fun color on my client’s pre-lighted hair, I will mix some of the direct dye color with conditioner and give it to them to take home as a refresher,’ Friedman explained.”

I love the fact that instead of using lighter hair color, you actually use color! I think it’s really fun and extremely interesting. With super trendy celebs already rocking this new trend, it might stick around for a while! I think I might actually do this look, what do you guys think? Maybe in a purple or pink!

source and image
aol

8 Responses to “Dip Dyed Hair, the New Ombre?”

  1. 1 Sarah

    I think its cute but wouldn’t be an everyday thing.

  2. 2 Zaynab

    Not my thing, As sarah said its cute. Huda would you please do a post on how to choose the right color and also a make up tutorial on tom ford’s make up compaign.

  3. 3 Majda

    Maybe I’d get a wig or extensions for days I want to be fun but I don’t think I’d actually dye my hair this way.

  4. 4 tracyredroses

    I love this trend but some celebrities are not pulling it right ! i love the purple it’s really suits black hair ! and blue for blonde hair !

  5. 5 nimra

    do you have any home remedies for dark pigmentation on the face? i have it around my mouth 😦

  6. 6 someone :P

    ommg ive been wanting to do this for SOO long but im not allowed yet !! plzz let me know where i can find those hair dyes in dubaii 😦 ❤ xoxo

  7. 7 Shazia

    I have Jet black hair and a few years ago I put purple streaks in my hair. My hairdresser did it for me complimentary as part of me being her model for a hair show/ competition judged by a famous hair guru from NY. We ended up winning, and I absolutely adored my purple streaks. I have never gotten so many compliments in my life from anything ever, more than I did with those purple streaks. If I could do it again, I would!! But I’m at a point in my life where purple streaks just aren’t office appropriate, lol.

  8. 8 salwa

    I once did it in purple but it doesn’t last for long time I loved it but then it turnes ugly :/


Tell me what you think Gorgeous?!

