Suri Cruise, 5-Years Old and Wearing Makeup?

19Sep11

BEAUTY BLABBER | CELEBRITY
By Huda Heidi Kattan


I know I love beauty and makeup and all of that really fun girly stuff, but as much as I do, I won’t be putting makeup on my daughter anytime soon! After all, children should be children! So when I saw an article about Suri Cruise wearing Deep Red Lipstick, I didn’t really know what to think of it. My sister Mona was in beauty pageants when she was younger (although she might not admit it, since she’s super shy) and my mom of course put a little blush on her cheeks and teased the life out of her hair, but that was about it. And I know for some mom’s that might be crazy enough, but it was pretty standard for beauty contestants. Now of course there has been a good amount of backlash saying that it isn’t right for Suri to be wearing lipstick that bold, and that she is growing up too fast, but I don’t know. Personally, I’m kind of torn here. Part of me, says this is innocent dress up and the other part says sloooow down! So what do you think? Is it appropriate to let your 5 year-old wear red lipstick out?

8 Responses to “Suri Cruise, 5-Years Old and Wearing Makeup?”

  1. 1 Nehan

    Umm, maybe okay to just let her put it on at home while playing dress up or something. ‘Cause yes I did put lipstick as a child too but not when I was 5! That too, hardly ever. Forget that, please tell me her feet are not normal for a 5yr old :S Needs to be fed perhaps?!

  2. 2 sarah

    Lipstick and lip gloss I don’t mind since all little girls love playing dress up. However what I really find annoying is when she wears heels http://img2.timeinc.net/people/i/2009/cbb/blog/091109/suri-cruise-500.jpg

    SLOW DOWN

  3. I think a child wearing lipstick isn’t that bad !!! but other than that HELL NO !!!

  4. 4 Cassidy

    She looks sickly!

  5. 5 typefashion

    Little girls love to play dress up and its fun too ! It is a good idea to draw the line when walking out etc !

    and with all the toddler pageants having fake lashes, teeth whitening, teased hair why all the bad press for Suri ? Being a celebrity kid is not that easy I guess 🙂

    http://www.typefashion.wordpress.com

  6. 6 Mary Monroe

    Well I’ve always loved makeup when I was a little kid… I won’t deny that I used to sneak into my mother drawers and take her lipsticks lolll….. I have a picture of myself when I was probably a year old, I had lipstick on and a little blush I looked like a doll! 🙂 My opinion on this is Yes Suri is young to be wearing that bold of lipstick on… but personally i think if it was a lighter shade for an occasion it would be fine, but for a child to go around daily with red bold lipstick that’s a no no.. Children should be children, Although i experimented with my moms lipsticks she was still a mother stepped up and told me I couldn’t wear any lipstick until i was a teenager. Although the perception of children wearing makeup may have changed because of all this pageant media (where parents are doing far more than just putting lipstick on their kids) It all comes down to parenting…Suri may like lipstick or makeup but I think this is where her mother should step in and be a mother to her child.

  7. 7 Maha

    I was recently staying with my cousin and she has the most adorable 2 year old girl. It is not like her mom sits her down and demands to put her make up,, its cute, the girl comes and sees her mom putting make up and asks for lipstick every once in a while.. i think it is okay as long as the girl doesnt have a makeup bag or something at this age :p

  8. grrr its that mad scientology of letting children make their own decisions… Even if her parents didn’t want her to wear it they can’t say no…


Tell me what you think Gorgeous?!

