Having One of Those Days…

08Oct11

REAL TALK | HUDA
By Huda Heidi Kattan


I’ve always tought life to be a crazy roller coaster, scarier than anything you can find in a theme park, but manageable. A firm belief of mine is that God never puts more pressure on you than you can handle–having said that, I definitely believe he challenges you. Sometimes it’s life that’s hard and other times, it’s us. Yesterday was one of those days for me! I was feeling so frustrated when I spoke to my sister Mona and she told me quite frankly that I was not being thankful. Ouch. She was right.

As much as I wanted to argue with her with why I had the right to be frustrated, she was right! Do we ever really have the right to feel that way? When you’re thankful, all your problems seem to go away. And Mona, being a huge fan of positive subconscious thinking told me my frustration had all and everything to do with the way I was thinking. I had always believed that our life really is the result of the way we think, act, and react. I know, positive thinking can have a incredible impact on your life, so why now was I being such a pessimistic polly?

I think when you feel down on yourself, it’s important to get up and work! Do something that makes you feel accomplished! Nothing is better than feeling like you have reached a goal of some sort! Sometimes that alone can be enough of a motivator to get you going and on the way to reach a greater goal! So, I thought I would share these thoughts with you in hopes that if anyone is feeling poopy, that they can getup and kick ass! Let’s do it together! And remember to thank God for everything in your life! 🙂

25 Responses to “Having One of Those Days…”

  1. 1 Joana

    thanks a lot for that. i’m having one of those days, one of those weeks actually, but, ya, you’re right. I’m thankful for everything, I know god has a bigger plan for me.
    thanks again!

  2. LOVE YOU!!! You’re so amazing!!! Thanks for sharing this with us!! Xx ❤

  3. 3 GlamBeauty

    Always look at the cup half full rather than half empty. Make peace with your soul and you’ll be grateful for all the little things that we sometimes dont appreciate.

  4. 4 husna

    well said…..<3 it…and i cant believe tht hw much i need ur blog

    love u huda

  5. 5 naila

    SCARY thing is, I was in the xact same position as you huda so ur article came @ the right time. God bless YOU! xxx ❤

  6. 6 Heba @lo0lo085

    I definitely needed that today 🙂 thanks so much for sharing and thank God for that person who always keeps u grounded and thankful. Say hi to Mona xoxo

  7. 7 Tata

    omg…Huda you are so right…my God knows that I have been feeling the same recently…so much pressure from everywhere in my life…and only yesterday I went out on my own for little massage followed by a coffee and little shopping…and on my outgoing I was thinking about all the things I have in my life and came to the same conclusion as yours…so today I am really doing something that boosts my motivation…you have no idea how happy I felt to read this post…to hear all this from someone whom I really appreciate in my life…I am beyond happy to know you sweety…Thank you so much for sharing everything with us…and yes I am kicking ass with you :*******

  8. 8 Soraya

    Awww I definitely needed that!
    I think your sister is totally right!

  9. 9 Elena

    same situation here..

  10. 10 Fatima S

    You have everything to be thankful for, but we all have those days… although we have a roof over our heads, and families who love us, and food on our tables whenever we want, an education to support us, we forget how blessed we truly are.

    I agree with Mona, she is quite the positive one mashAllah! And sometimes, it helps to think that without these challenges and difficulties in our lives, no matter how big or small, we would never grow emotionally or intellectually. I wish you success, positivity and happiness in your life!

  11. 11 Dana

    I think you’re amazing for having a bad day, being positive about it, and then sharing that positive energy with everyone. You’re not only helping people when you’re having a good day, but even when you’re not. Don’t ever change!

    P.S: That’s a pretty picture of you.

  12. 12 Shabnam

    huda pls make an eye liner tutorial i love the way u apply ur liner

  13. 13 hadeel

    whenever i feel down, i read Qura’an…words of Allah makes me feel how much he loves us, i open Qura’an randomly to see which page is talking to me now. have a great life Huda we all been there

  14. 14 Sarah

    Thank you for sharing your honest thoughts and feelings Huda; yes we all have those days…we’re emotional beings afterall and it’s only natural. I do however disagree with God not putting any more pressure on us than we can handle. If that was the case, there would be no such thing as terminal illnesses, starvation, depression or simply suicide.

    We were all created with our individual limits and although we might make it through a hardship alive, doesn’t mean it doesn’t scar us; change the core of our thoughts and beliefs and feelings; which in return affects the decisions we make and hence our future.

    A bad day, for many is just that…just a bad day where a build up of things comes to a boiling point and we explode; then we get over it. I guess the most important thing is to remember the fact of life: that there will always be people better off than us, but there will always be those that are way worse off as well. Take a breath, put into perspective the positives and negatives of your life and ride out your bad days. Most importantly…take it easy on yourself…we’re all just human. xox

  15. 15 fatty

    Thank you for sharing 🙂

  16. 16 Hend

    Yup, today happens to be the day that I’m officially having “one of those days”. I feel like it’s actually healthy, it’s like a wake up call to shift your focus to things that actually matters. I believe everyone of us has a dream to realize, a goal to reach, or a mission to accomplish. This what makes life interesting, otherwise what would we look forward to? It gives you hope. But we also have to enjoy the journey to our destination, coz life is short.

    A friend once told me that when you’re trying to make your dream come true and you face some bumps along the way (or challenges), it’s like life’s way of telling you: How bad do you really want that dream?.. If you didn’t want it that bad you’d stop at the first bump you face, but if you wanted that dream so bad then you’ll find a way to overcome that bump.

    🙂

  17. 17 typefashion

    xoxo

    Well Said.. to get up and do a small task and that motivating us ! true indeed.

    http://www.typefashion.wordpress.com

  18. 18 fofa

    I’m having one of those days,weeks maybe months, but im trying to look at the half full cup rather than looking at the half empty, be thankful and satisfied of what i have…just to smile and give my self a push…i love you huda and you are an inspiration person, wish you all the best in your life and remember all those hard days will make us more stronger and positive.

    love you and you look so pretty

  19. 19 Sumaiyah

    Love you huda! Thanks for sharing, it’s really great that sometimes it’s good to have faith in God. Knowing that he’s there at all the right moments. Be grateful for everything positive and even the little negatives in your life! ❤

  20. 20 Mary Monroe

    I love this, thanks for sharing… I totally understand where you are coming from. I find myself thinking and overanalyzing for no reason at all, I make things so much more complicated when they don’t need to be. I am a libra and I also know that you are too, We tend to think way too much and that’s not healthy. Sometimes i feel like I’m not a normal person, for example i sit in my room and think of specific situations in my life and I say to myself who does this. It seems like the more I worry about life and everything going on i find myself depressed. I used to be worse 2 years ago since i was dealing with a breakup, but I’m glad to say that I have changed although i do still tend to over think things. My aunt gave me advice to not think of others or their problems, but to focus on myself, the future, and my happiness. I thank god everyday for everything that he has given me and honest to say if i never found him I would not know him, and without knowing him I wouldn’t be here because he makes me a stronger person each and everyday. Although I may feel lonely most of the time, he’s there for me and he’s been there from the very beginning. He’s truly amazing #sothankful. 🙂 love you huda!

    • OMG! I think waaaay too much!! I had no idea it was a Libra thing!! 🙂 Happy bday darling!!!

  21. 22 neha koneti

    I love you huda thanks for sharing.. it’s really great that always to have good faith in God…:)

  22. I am sooo glad you all liked this! I’m really happy I shared this and that you all shared your thoughts! You guys are so much of an inspiration, you really have no idea! I love you all!!! <3<3<3

  23. 24 hh

    oh?thank u so much for this …..but?i am always feeling like every day is bad and i try to be happy but i cant it is not coming to me whatever i try ?
    yemken mo men nasebe al sa3ada?

  24. 25 hh

    by the way i do looooooooove ur blg


Tell me what you think Gorgeous?!

