Vitamin HB | How to Beat A Shiny Complexion, AKA Oily Skin!

21Mar12

DAILY DOSE | SKINCARE
By Huda Heidi Kattan


Hi Huda, hope this email finds you well. I’m a big fan, I watched ALL of your tutorials and read I your blog. Can you please tell me what is the best remedy for oily skin? Summer is around the corner and I get super oily! I have tried everything including the Smashbox’s primer, Photo finish. Please tell me how I can avoid looking like a grease ball. Thank you!

Hi darling!!! Thank you so much:) Well, oily skin sucks for a number of reasons! Aside from the shine, it magnifies pores—ugh!! But even if you have naturally shiny skin, it doesn’t mean you have to constantly worry about shine every time someone snaps a photo!

The absolute BEST way (and when I say best, I mean this really works) to get rid of shine is to use two products! Urban Decay’s De-Slick in a Tube and De-Slick Powder! When you use these two products together, you will literally have NO shine! I used these products because even though I don’t have super shiny skin, after I apply makeup, my skin gets seriously greasy! After I apply this, nothing can make my skin shiny, even 135 Degree (F) whether! I’ve tried and tested this (and I was pregnant at the time and completely matte)!

11 Responses to “Vitamin HB | How to Beat A Shiny Complexion, AKA Oily Skin!”

  1. 1 Mary Monroe

    I need this!

  2. 2 DEWY

    Huda,

    Any tips on shrinking the pores? I hate when I put my makeup on and you can see all the pores in my T-Zone.

    Thanks

    • 3 Camila

      I use the POREfessional by benefit. There is a value set with a couple other products at sephora check it out!! : http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P302914&categoryId=B70

      I’m sure Huda knows of something else though, you know, since she’s the Beauty genie in a bottle and all! 😉

      • 4 DEWY

        Thanks Camila

      • 5 Camila

        One more thing, that takes care of the pore-blem (problem, I’m such a dork haha) for the mean time but since I’ve been using the Clarifying lotion 3 by clinique after I wash my face in the morning and at night my pores have significantly gotten smaller! it gets rid of all the build up so it doesn’t let your pores get bigger, plus my skin looks much tighter! ok i’ll stop 🙂

  3. 6 Elena

    i m still waiting for a witch hazel review/info 😀

  4. 7 Mariam

    Really relevant topic, especially since today was one of the hottest days so far this year! My face was so horribly shiny as a result =/ But I don’t wear makeup, so are there any natural remedies that I can use to decrease the shininess? I heard applying lemon juice on your face works but do you know any others? Thanks so much =)

  5. 8 Dina

    Hellooooo Ladies…

    well I know that Huda is an expert , but I would really love to share my own experience with oily skin remedy, I have seriously tried every product in the market but it was temporary, till one day I decided to see one of the best dermatologist here in my country, and he told me that there are problems need to be solved inside before outside, so in addition of changing all of my beauty treatments products he gave me a prescription for pills that made wonders for my whole skin (body and face) , they are called Roaccutane (you need to consult your doctor first ) , they make wonder for my skin and even minimized the thin lines in the face and I really looked younger and fresh…. wish you all the best 🙂

    • 9 Faz

      Roaccutane is a very strong medicine, and I would think twice to take it even if the doctor suggests it. It helps with breakouts, but its not something permenant, all the while creating some serious side effects- some of which may worsen over time. So unless you have severe acne or cystic acne that won’t go away and is hurting your confidence, stay clear of roaccutane. I’ve been on it for 6 months, and if I could do it again, I probably would avoid it. Good luck ladies, I know oily skin is such a buzz kill 😦

    • 10 Mais

      Roaccutane is excellent but it’s a very strong medicine, not everyone can take it. Like for anyone with kidney problems, high cholesterol levels, etc..it will be dangerous. It puts so much stress on the liver and it might cause some serious side-effects. Of course you can’t take it if you’re pregnant, planning to be pregnant and of course if you’re breastfeeding (you need at least 6 months to clean your body from this medicine before you decide to have get pregnant) it can be very useful for severe acne cases but of course you’ll have to consult your doctor and do the blood tests every month..

  6. 11 sonyia

    hey huda! i just tried a new vichy facewash and its causing me to break out! some ppl said its normal for a week because ur skin needs to adjust to the product but is that true?? or is it a reaction!


Tell me what you think Gorgeous?!

