Beauty Secret of the 60’s–Razor Face?

24Jan11

BEAUTY | NEWS
By Huda Heidi Kattan


When it comes to beauty, I can say without absolutely any hesitation that the 60’s were my ultimate fav! I just love the super long and slightly clumpy lashes, flushed cheeks, elongated liner, thick brows and super feminine and body-full hair. It’s just super girly, yet extremely sophisticated and slightly playful! One thing I had no idea about and to be honest, I am definitely still skeptical, is one of the beauty secrets shared by beauty 60’s-beauty-sirens Marilyn Monroe and Elizabeth Taylor. Kate Somerville, who is an amazing skin and beauty guru in LA recently dished about the beauty secret to style.com

“Taking razor to legs still happens with presumed regularity, but gliding these handheld tools against the grain of face fuzz is totally taboo, thanks to the warning that’s been passed from generation to generation: If you shave extraneous hairs, they will come in darker and thicker. Or will they? “It’s a total myth. The greats (those being Elizabeth Taylor and Marilyn Monroe) shaved their faces for completely bare skin and an added dose of exfoliation.  Somerville herself is a firm believer in the power of the razor—one in particular: Gillette’s Mach 3.”

I don’t know about this one–what do you guys think? Would you try it? For the love of beauty and just to find out, I’m debating!



29 Responses to “Beauty Secret of the 60’s–Razor Face?”

  1. 1 reem

    i wouldn’t take the risk

  2. 2 Rawan

    Well I heard that wax or Halawa can strech your skin and cause flabby skin in the face on the long run. My sito (grandma) would NEVER allow anything to be done on the face, neither shave nor wax. I’ve seen a few girls shave their chin area cuz they have dark hairs, and by time it looked green and dark. I think the best thing is to either leave the face alone or consider laser.

  3. read about this too and super curious cos one of the RHONJ- Caroline Manzo apparently does it for ex foliation and supposedly she has great skin too – not going to try this!

    • 4 NouNou

      I was just about to mention caroline Manzo too!! But yeah, i wouldn’t try it…nuh-uh!! :-S

  4. 5 Fatma

    I think its depend on the type of skin, hair and hormones,, its play an important rule in growing hair and in making the hair thik or soft..

  5. 6 MJALBADER

    I totally agree with Rawan!

  6. 7 Aadila

    Threading the hair is the safest option, it doesnt make the hair grow any thicker because it removes the hair from the roots, and you only have to go once a month. some lazers could damage your skin and cause pigmentation, maybe not immediatly but when you older. as for shavin it does leave your hair growing thicker and darker, and lets not forget ingrowns!

  7. 8 Renren

    honestly, when i shave my legs and arms et all the hair does VISIBLY look much thicker and does become thicker.
    infact i’m shaving my arm pits (tmi ?? :P) in the hopes of scheduling laser soon and i notice one root has two hairs…..

    how can they they explain that?

    (when i was the hair is DRASTICALLY reduced)

  8. 9 Renren

    (when i wax* ….)

  9. I’ve heard the reason that men’s faces age so much better than women’s (which, let’s face it, they do) is because the shaving they do exfoliates their skin and keeps the cells turning over. I’m not inclined to try the shaving thing, but I’m all for replicating the effects– namely, by using products with retinoids in them.

  10. 11 Glam*

    Honestly,all these stories abt hair growing back thicker n darker after shaving are mere myths..

    My grandma used to shave back in her younger years and she does it till today..n her facial hair seems normal to me..nevertheless,i used to be totally against shavin n id only thread which was excruciating pain cz i have thick dark facial hair n my skin is super sensitive..thus,immediately after that,id have a breakout which lasted for weeks!

    I started laser a few years back and it made thngs a lot simpler..but i had to SHAVE my face twice before evry treatment..at first,i was skeptical but i had total faith in the doc n after a lot of research..i agreed to shave..n trust me,i cudnt have it any other way..i dnt get any breakouts now..my face is a lot softer n my facial hair is very light n thin..n i STILL shave sometimes even though iv stopped the laser treatments..but the hair grows back very thin and that too,after a long time 🙂 so ummm,im a BIG supporter of shaving n these is from my personal experieoce.

  11. 12 Shoosh

    No :s

  12. 13 Natalie

    There is NO way I would shave my face- while I believe it is a case by case basis, hormones, etc. I just wouldn’t chance it due to the potential negative effect. I personally worked with a very nice lady who in her teens had dark hair around her jawline and upper lip and began shaving it, by her 30’s she had stuble like a man and a five o’clock shadow by evening- she eventually ended up getting electrolysis treatments (back in the early 90’s before laser).

  13. 14 Tata

    I think its true that our grandmas have used things like this in old days; but one thing my mom always remind me of is that in those days they also had a much healthier diet than us; meaning they were eating naturally grown and not processed food. These days alot of women suffer from excess hair due to irregular hormones (which comes from the food we eat) in their bodies and putting a razor on not only face but body can worsen the situation. At least its true for myself and people around me so I would never ever use razor for my body even…

  14. 15 Najla

    for sure no

  15. 16 Nuria

    Laser for the hair,

  16. 17 sahar

    no way would i shave my face unless using laser. i am currently doing laser hair treatment and freaking love it. i have dark hair, thick course hair with fair skin. laser hair removal has been a miracle so far. i only wish i tried it sooner.

  17. 18 Basma

    Shaving DOES make the hair thicker. Scientifically it irritates the hair follicle to produce thicker hair and if you have noticed when shaving and when the hair grows back there are like 3 hairs in one pore, shaving does that, it gives thicker and more hair.
    When having a laser treatment you must shave because the laser beam works better on thick hair than it does on thin hair because the follicle is thicker therefore the beam can reach it and kill it quicker than a small follicle of a thin hair. That is why we are advised to shave before laser until the hair is really thick, proving the fact that shaving does in fact make the hair thicker. It is not a myth.

  18. 19 Nudy

    I would never take the risk. As shaving has increased my leg and arm hair, so i guess same applies to the face.

  19. 20 raaaw

    offcourse NOT!

  20. 21 Stef

    Uhhh, no thank you

  21. 23 Alex

    NEVER EVER EVER in a million years would i do that 😀

  22. Never shaved. Never will.

  23. 25 Shazia

    I’ve threaded or waxed my face my whole life, and I strongly believe it has made my face so much hairier. When I was a teenager I only really had hair on my upper lip and just lightly around the rest of my face. During college, when I really started waxing and threading more frequently, thick hair developed everywhere else, including my chin, neck, cheeks, and sideburns. Not to mention the painful acne I would endure as a result. The past couple years I switched to shaving since I figured at this point the hair couldnt get any thicker. Aside from the obvious time saving benefits, I’ve noticed my skin is smoother, clearer, and the hair really doesnt grow back any thicker or faster than it did with threading and waxing. I still pluck the thickest hairs (which are usually on my chin) but I am not opposed to shaving when I don’t have the time or patience for anything else. I have not developed any darkening of the skin as some ppl claim, and I am someone who is extremely prone to hyperpigmentation. Honestly, it really is a myth. I have also shaved my arms my whole life and the hair grows back thin. Now my leg hair, that’s a completely different story! Impossible to tame! Laser is probably going to be the only thing that will save that, but I can’t afford that right now.

  24. 26 JJ

    No way, it worked for Marilyn cause she’s a blondie.

  25. 27 Mary Monroe

    absolutely not.. you should never shave your face…. Save up some money and choose laser or do electrolysis.

  26. 28 Riya

    I must say laser is the best way to clean up all type of hair. cuz I had on my different areas , And found it really effective…………
    We must not take risk for our face atleast……..

  27. 29 Ada

    Ohhhh no.. I heard about it on Dr. Oz and tried it. I’m not too hairy on the face. But psh every time I’ve tried it it’s quite irritating and I break out. My skin isn’t too sensitive and I do use water and the Gillette 3 Mach Turbo. It’s a hot mess lol I just get ingrowns and like little bumps or breakouts so I exfoliate in other ways or with my Clarisonic 🙂


Tell me what you think Gorgeous?!